The Beloved of God

Churches in Salzburg (Photo by Paul Schuberth)

Churches in Salzburg (Photo by Paul Schuberth)

There is a church that is unseen
It has no building, pew or screen
To display things of churchly life
Instead, this church is called His wife

You join that church by entering
Into Christ through surrendering
All that you have and what you are
To Jesus who’s the Morning Star

He’ll strip your self off from the heart
And nakedness will be the start
Of fellowship you didn’t know
As long as you sat in a row

With other human bodies there
In buildings where the preachers care
About the sermon for the crowd
Which beefs up faith and leaves no doubt

This new Church, she has come to us
In secret, without a big fuss
On Pentecost, that long ago
Now she is here, at hand, aglow

With Spirit’s fire, love, and more
For everyone who to the core
Was pierced with arrows of His love
Sent by His angels from above

Assembling there is different – yes
And fellowship so special – guess
You meet there those beloved ones
Who live elsewhere on earth, His sons

His daughters, all His children come
Together by His Spirit’s drum
Which calls them every day and night
To fellowship sheer out of sight

They worship God with thankfulness
In heart and mind and pray He’ll bless
All those who do not join them yet
With life eternal where regret

Is over as is doubt and fear
When you see God and Jesus near
With all your brothers, sisters there
Who His love in God’s Kingdom share

*******************************************************************************

 “God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth.”(John 4:24 ESV)
 
“And this is eternal life, that they know you the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent.” (John 17:3 ESV)
*******************************************************************************
5 thoughts on “The Beloved of God

  1. Susanne Schuberth (Germany) Post author

    I posted this poem before. If you’re interested in the comments, see my first entry here

    Like

    Reply
  2. Michael

    Yes! Susanne, what a difference it has made to follow the leading of the Spirit and “go forth to him outside the camp and bear the abuse he endured. For here we have no lasting city, but we seek the city which is to come.” (Hebrews 13:13-14 RSVA). So many are still in the camp, the Catholic Camp, the Fundamentalist Camp, the Pentecostal Camp, etc. I think I would still be wandering around aimlessly in these man-made camps if Jesus had not divinely called me out unto Him.
    I had a very shocking thing happen to me one Sunday while sitting in “church” during the service. I heard Him say to me, “Why do you keep seeking the Living among the dead?” Wow!!!! THAT got my attention and I started praying in earnest for what God had in mind for me and where He wanted to lead me and why! As I followed Jesus, it DID cause me much abuse. I got to share in “the fellowship of HIS sufferings.” I found out that the Christian walk was not just about meetings and sitting through endless lectures and brow beatings, but a very personal encounter with the LIVING Christ who tenderly leads us as THE Good Shepherd and He leads us where most who call themselves “Christian” have yet to follow because they are still following human shepherds who are busy building their own “lasting cities” here on earth!
    So, my dear sister IN Christ, thanks once again for sharing your thoughts in these poems. I know that God will continue to open His treasure house of spiritual wealth to you as you seek His glorious face.
    Love you dearly IN the Son, Michael

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susanne Schuberth (Germany) Post author

      Indeed, Michael, it’s a big difference between being led by the Spirit and being led by Christians who are still devoid of His Spirit. Although it feels a bit uncomfortable at times to listen to God’s unpredictable guidance, the outcome of listening to Him is always VERY GOOD. That is not something I could say of my times inside of different churches. Although there were droplets of His Spirit to be found as well, the main and enjoyable part of His presence was something I experienced in my private life outside those visible buildings.
      Actually, we need a certain amount of time that we spend in His presence so that we come to know His voice better, since, whom are we going to follow if we do not hear the difference between His voice and others?

      “The sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. A stranger they will not follow, but they will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of strangers.” (Joh 10:3-5 ESV)

      In His great love for you, my brother,

      Susanne

      Like

      Reply
  3. Michael

    Wow! This passage from John ten is EXACTLY what happened to me. He called me by name and led me out! Then since He brought me out He has gone before me and I follow HIM as I get to know HIS voice and no longer are confused by the voices of strangers that I used to listen to instead of Him all the time. Where He leads is as un-predictable as the wind itself, but I know that it is always GOOD. As for predictability, one time my daughter was asked by her church youth group leader what she thought of Sunday services. She replied, “Well, going to church on
    Sunday is like going to the circus… if you have seen one you have seen them all.”
    “Out of the mouths of babes…” Thanks Susanne. I really enjoy your insights and fellowship.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susanne Schuberth (Germany) Post author

      Ha ha ha ha – Dinah was completely right!
      Enjoying our Spirit-led fellowship, too, that much. 😉

      Like

      Reply

LEAVE A REPLY

