Seeing God

Seeing God with a Pure Heart (Photo Credit © 2014 Jem Trehern - OurChristianIdentity.com )

Seeing God with a Pure Heart
(Photo Credit © 2014 Jem Trehern – OurChristianIdentity.com )

Inspiration for the nation
For the crowd behind the cloud
Food for thought and divine drink
Found between workplace and sink

Is what we need first and foremost
Heaven’s breath, the Holy Ghost
Who will free us thoroughly
From life’s burdens – endlessly

Teach us how to listen more
To Your leading from the core
Of our heart and inmost soul
Make us see our very goal

Which is You who is The Bread
And The Drink for all who’re sad
Feeding on our risen Lord
And on Him, the Holy God

Is a delight this world knows not
They know only dash and dot
But all that’s beyond this earth
Can just be seen and felt through birth

From heaven high, right from above
Through Spirit’s light and filled with love
Then, so inspired directly
Our eyes are opened, come and see….


Or in order to put it more biblically, 😉

“Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.” (Ps 37:4 ESV)

JESUS also promised us,

“I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. Yet a little while and the world will see me no more, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. In that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. Whoever has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me. And he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him.” (Jn 14:18-21 ESV)

9 thoughts on “Seeing God

    1. Susanne Schuberth (Germany) Post author

      Thanks so much for your kind words! 🙂

      Actually, I just now found your comment in my spam folder, incidentally, because I wanted to empty that folder. Thank God I saw your comment now!! Pheeeeeew!

      That has already happened the second time this week and I have no idea WHY, dear Soraya. Akismet (WP’s spam filtering service) automatically moved your reply into the spam folder without showing it to me before. Arrggh! 😛

      Much love ❤
      Susanne

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Sky

    Thank you Jesus Holy Spirit for sharing your light and love through Susanne in this beautiful song! I love it Susanne – sooo beautiful 🙂 Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. Michael

    Susanne, It is wonderful to see you writing poems again. I was touched by the last stanza you wrote and the passage from John that you quoted from at the end of your poem.

    From heaven high, right from above
    Through Spirit’s light and filled with love
    Then, so inspired directly
    Our eyes are opened, come and see….

    “Yet a little while and the world will see me no more, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. In that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. Whoever has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me. And he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him.”

    All our precious promises from Jesus seem to be involved in us SEEING. Spiritual sight. Jesus invites us to come and see, but it takes new opened eyes. He was telling them that because He was about to die, the world would no longer see Him, but that THEY would see Him and because He would rise from the dead and continue to live, THEY would continue to live and see Him. So we have Him promising spiritual life and spiritual sight. We are IN Jesus, Jesus is in the Father and He is in us! All this hinges on our love for Jesus. If we love Jesus, we will do as He commands, because those who love another want to do everything they can to please them. And we will have HIS life (and power) in us to carry out those wishes just as Jesus had the will and power to obey His Father whom He loves. And, finally, as we love Jesus we are loved by the Father. It is in that love bond that Jesus has promised to manifest Himself to us. Even so Lord Jesus, may we see you!

    “The wilderness and the dry land shall be glad, the desert shall rejoice and blossom; like the crocus it shall blossom abundantly, and rejoice with joy and singing. The glory of Lebanon shall be given to it, the majesty of Carmel and Sharon. They shall see the glory of the LORD, the majesty of our God.” (Isaiah 35:1-2 RSVA)

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Susanne Schuberth (Germany) Post author

      Dear Michael,

      I am happy to hear that you were touched by the last stanza and the Scripture which I indeed chose in order to highlight the hidden meaning of my poem.

      Yes, we need the eyes of our hearts being opened so that we can see Him and really taste that the Lord is good. The real meaning of communion is spiritual, it is neither a sacrament as many churches still believe nor is it an outward thing. It is no tradition which needs to be maintained until Jesus returns, it is simply about enjoying the Lord in the Spirit. Or in other words,

      “Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day. For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him.” (Jn 6:54-56 ESV)

      Nobody understood what Jesus meant there since all around Him had not yet been
      enlightened as it was after Pentecost. To clarify His hidden message, Jesus even added
      (I remember I quoted that before in a comment on another poem),

      “It is the Spirit who gives life; the flesh is no help at all. The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and life.” (Jn 6:63 ESV)

      It’s all about His (risen) flesh IN the Spirit…

      Enough allusions now, I believe. 😉

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  3. Michael

    Jesus was not speaking of eating His physical flesh as one would eat a steak or drinking His blood like a vampire. Yes, it is His spoken words to us, those ones that have LIFE in them and take root in our souls that produce His life in us.

    “Everyone who is taking the lead and not remaining in the teaching of Christ has not God. He who is remaining in the teaching, this one has the Father as well as the Son.” (2 John 1:9 CLV)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

LEAVE A REPLY

