Entering His Rest…

Entering His Rest... (Photo by Susanne Schuberth)

Entering His Rest…
(Photo by Susanne Schuberth)

As long as there are dreams and wishes
Unfulfilled
And burning pain that cuts all through to
Get us killed
We have not yet arrived where
Freedom reigns
And only peace of mind with
Joy remains

It is one thing to know the truth
Another to be known from youth
Until our days grow dimly dark
Yet God’s bright light still leaves the spark

Which can be spread and get inflamed
By Sprit’s wind that can’t be tamed
Nor can we predict what will be
If our soul’s eye beholds Thee…

Our God alone is what we see
We long to be eternally
With Him who rules the universe
Perfectly without one rehearse

God can be seen in all that is
The tiniest being feels that bliss
One day is ours, without end
When we’re IN Christ, the Heaven Sent

14 thoughts on “Entering His Rest…

  1. Michael

    Dear Susanne,
    As I read your poem I thought of so many scriptures, but that last stanza really jumped out to me.

    “God can be seen in all that is
    The tiniest being feels that bliss
    One day is ours, without end
    When we’re IN Christ, the Heaven Sent”

    As I read this I was reminded of what Paul wrote,

    “For the creation waits with eager longing for the revealing of the sons of God; for the creation was subjected to futility, not of its own will but by the will of him who subjected it in hope; because the creation itself will be set free from its bondage to decay and obtain the glorious liberty of the children of God. We know that the whole creation has been groaning in travail together until now; and not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the first fruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies.” (Romans 8:19-23 RSVA)

    Wow! What a passage! All of God’s creation has been subjected to weakness and futility because of the fall of man and the resulting curse, but with hope! The curse does not get the final word. The promise is that not only mankind will be set free of his bondage to the results of sin, but the rest of creation itself as well. We who are Christ’s will mature into full son-ship as God’s own sons and [correct me if I am reading this wrong] God will also restore the rest of His creatures to obtain the glorious liberty of the children of God. What I see in this is it is God’s plan to bring His creation back to the full freedom, harmony and unity that was there in the Garden of Eden before there was ever any sin or curse… man, plants and animals resting and abiding in the unity and love of God. It is almost too much to imagine, but oh the bliss we will all share in His great love and some of us have even started to experience it now.

    God bless you, dear Susanne! Thanks for sharing your heart felt revelations with us.

    Your brother in the Son,
    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Susanne Schuberth (Germany) Post author

      Dear Michael,

      Indeed, I can only say, “Yes and amen,” to your whole comment, both to the Bible verses which I also had in mind while writing 😉 and to your exegesis of Romans 8:19-23 in conjunction with Genesis where creation before the fall is described.

      It was amazing for me to read that you refer to this poem as a heartfelt revelation.
      Except for the last stanza with I added yesterday before publishing the poem, I wrote the rest about two weeks ago during a longer dryness-pain-and-inspirationsless-weakness-period. 😛 Before yesterday my heart felt like DEAD. Meanwhile it is an on-and-off process of feeling and not-feeling. It seems to me that God rearranged the source of my emotional life which is meanwhile more “spiritual” and derives its power rather from faith than than from soulish feelings. Alas, difficult to describe… :/

      May God bless you, too, immensely, my brother. Thank you so much for your continued support of my blogs and for your both wise and edifying words. I am so grateful to God that I have come to know you, Michael! ❤

      Your sister in HIM who rules the universe,
      Susanne

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    2. Q's Corner

      Last night I read a bible study about the New Heaven and the New Earth; that study ties in very well with your poem Susanne and your comment Michael. What I learned yesterday and now this morning, has brought great encouragement to my heart and spirit! I have been given new hope and I can feel new life pouring into me!

      My last three years has been a fiery time of trial, but God had prepped me before hand, by letting me know that it was going to hot, very dark and VERY SHORT. His words have come true. Now the darkness (severe depression and despair) have lifted! It is like
      coming out of a very dark cave where NO light dwells, out into the Sunlight of God’s love and presence. It is brillant experience, as well as an exilerating live giving renewal!

      Susanne, the picture that you chose for your poem speaks more than mere words of such a beautiful place, I feel within myself what it would be like to be there Right Now!

      Although my body is full of aches and pains, I am feeling NO Pain nor sorrow in my spirit, mind, or heart as I am writing this to you. I have been liberated and am now
      walking down a different and new path, heading for new experiences in my Lord.

      Praising the Lord today for His awesome greatness! Praise the Name of Jesus!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. Susanne Schuberth (Germany) Post author

        Thank you so much for your confirming words on here, dear Susie. ❤

        I am happy to hear that you can truly feel God's new life pouring into you after such a horrible time that even lasted for three years.

        In fact, the way you feel about the picture I took last Thursday near Wachendorf (a small village near Fürth) when I was underway on my bike on Ascension Day (which is also Father's Day in Germany), describes exactly the way I have been feeling about the pic when I was editing it later on Adobe Photoshop where I added the Scripture. I was just reminded of a German mystic (a Benedictine nun and female doctor who lived in the 12th century) who said,

        “You have heaven and earth within you.”
        (Hildegard of Bingen)

        Our reason does not get such a statement, but it is true that inside us there is room for the whole universe. Imagine that! I think that has to do with the fact that we are created in God’s image. Eventually, we will see and feel as He does. What a great God and Savior, indeed!

        Love you,
        Susanne xoxo

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Michael

        Susie, I am sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you on your comment on here. It is so good to hear that the Lord has connected with you through the scriptures and what we have shared on here. It seems to be the case that both Susanne and I often feel very isolated and ineffective in what we write and do… often under attack as well. The closer we get to the truth, the more we seem to be tried in our daily lives to drive us into that truth which is only found IN Christ. It can really wear us down, but getting a response like yours really helps. Thank you so very much.

        “For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant; later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.” (Hebrews 12:11 RSVA)

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Susanne Schuberth (Germany) Post author

        Dear Michael,

        Meanwhile I can even say that I lost ANY feeling about how my writings could have had an effect on anyone. And I am not interested in writing, either. Does not sound very hopeful, I know, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles when God puts us through this PPP, i.e. painful pruning process of sanctification. In the end there is nothing left of what we once loved to do. Or to say it with Jesus’ words,

        “And whoever does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” (Mt 10:38-39 ESV)

        I think we are currently losing the rest of what we once called our own life, my brother, don’t you think…? However, I still have the hope in mind that Jesus keeps His promise and gives us spiritual life instead of that “Ol’ Adam stuff” as He said here,

        “I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.” (Jn 10:10 ESV)

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Michael

        Dear Susanne,
        You wrote, “Meanwhile I can even say that I lost ANY feeling about how my writings could have had an effect on anyone. And I am not interested in writing, either.”

        I know exactly what you are talking about. We are not that far apart in the way God is stripping us of all that was once important to us.

        You continued,

        “And whoever does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” (Mt 10:38-39 ESV)
        I think we are currently losing the rest of what we once called “our own life”, my brother, don’t you think…?”

        Yes, I think you are right. Jesus spoke of His Father being the vine dresser who prunes away every branch that does not produce fruit unto His kingdom… Only after we have been through a few of those pruning cycles with Him cutting ever deeper does the depth of that pruning He had in mind start to take on real meaning and scope. When we come to Christ one of the first things to go is those who we once thought were friends. Then He changes our value system and the things of this world lose their worth to us and are often taken away. But as the pruners continue to do a deeper work, He trims away all our “Christian support system” with all its outer trappings like church affiliation and even many of our so-called “Christian friends.” Finally, it seems that the cutting can even include loved ones who are not in His kingdom. Or as Jesus put it, “Who is my mother, my brother and my sister? He who does the will of my Father is my mother, brother and sister.”

        None of this is pleasant, but we serve a jealous God who will not have any other gods before Him. Somewhere in our past we prayed, “God do whatever it takes to bring me into all you have for me in your kingdom,” or, “That I might be fully conformed to the image of your Son.” But we were clueless as to just how deep His work would go until all we have left is our faith in HIM that He knows what has to go and what can stay.

        Finally, you wrote:

        However, I still have the hope in mind that Jesus keeps His promise and gives us spiritual life instead of that “Ol’ Adam stuff” as He said here, “I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.” (Jn 10:10 ESV)

        Yes, my dear sister, His pruning is not meant to destroy and take away all life from us forever, but rather to bring forth NEWNESS of LIFE just as it does when a vine or a fruit tree is pruned back… abundant life that produces HIS fruit and not our own.

        He has not taken us out of Egypt so we can be abandoned there, but that we might truly come to know LIFE in that city whose Builder and Maker is God… built on that One Rock and Foundation, Jesus Christ. We will make it as we prayerfully continue to support one another and cry out to Him.

        Love you dearly IN the Son,
        Michael

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Susanne Schuberth (Germany) Post author

        Thank you so much for this God-inspired confirmation, my brother. And indeed, once again, I had a Scripture on my mind which I decided to not post in my
        comment and it was this one that refers to our family. It is the verse before the others above that says,

        “Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.” (Mt 10:37 ESV)

        We are only human, we are dust, and nobody of us could ever tear a loved one out of his heart, could we… It is once again God who prunes our hearts of those affections that might draw us away from Him. As for me, it is one of the most painful experiences of the dark night of the soul. God does not want us to hate our family but to care for them, yet He wants to be NUMBER ONE in our lives. Oh, that process is not fun, is it, Michael? 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Michael

        No, Susanne, it is not fun at all when He starts coming in between relationships of those whom we love. “Peter, do you love me more than these?” His list of “these” keeps growing, but so does our love for HIM that takes its place. His grace is sufficient for when we are weak He is made strong within us.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Susanne Schuberth (Germany) Post author

        Michael, I see more and more that in me, that is in my flesh, dwells no good thing, and meanwhile I also know that I have NO love for God at all. If He does not touch my heart with His Spirit, I am as loving as the rotten trunk of a tree. 😛

        I hope that makes sense to you… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Michael

        Yes, Susanne, you make perfect sense to me. We are on the same page in God’s plan to bring forth His Son in us. When His Spirit is in us we find out that even through all this stripping, These three REMAIN IN US, His faith, His hope and HIS LOVE, whether we can feel them or not and they will see us through our times of darkness.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael

    Susanne, you are more than welcome to any encouragement and support I can give you. It is interesting that you had this same passage from Romans in mind as you wrote that last stanza. Yes, I think that our Father would rather have us walk by the Spirit than by feelings. Feelings can be deceptive and don’t always reflect what God has for us. I am sure that Jesus didn’t “feel” like going to the cross and we know that the disciples did not feel He was making the right choice in that matter. Peter even rebuked Him when He insisted that this was what He had to do. Jesus responded by telling Peter that he desired the things of men and not the things of God (see Matt. 16:21-23). Somehow in all this He is training us to rely on our spiritual senses and not our earthly ones.
    Bless you!
    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Susanne Schuberth (Germany) Post author

      Michael,

      That has been a great example about Jesus not “feeling” like going to the cross. As for His disciples, I believe they were still carnally minded in their old selves and had no

      direct access to the Spirit of God yet, thus their humanly understandable but wrong
      reaction.

      Yes, we need to rely on our spiritual senses. Very good! Thanks again for your inspired words, my dear brother. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

LEAVE A REPLY

