What remains at the end of the day?

Photo by Susanne Schuberth

Photo by Susanne Schuberth

Looking for new sense of life
We see humans torn in strife
Trying to squeeze out what’s new
Hoping that they’ll score a coup

Be it fame or riches now
Climbing up the ladder – wow
From above the world looks good
Jealous is the neighborhood

But when you’re ahead of all
This big world then looks so small
You feel lonely on the top
And your zest for life will drop

Since if you have what you want
There’s a new thought that will haunt
You with fear to lose it all
Will besiege you, you will bawl

No more sleep at night for fear
Of disaster and of jeer
No more friends whom you can trust
All for ashes – and for dust

What then makes our life worthwhile?
What indeed makes faint souls smile?
Isn’t it the love received?
Without effort – as a gift?

Do we know where it comes from?
Do we know Him who’s the Son?
Does He live in our heart?
Do we feel Him far apart?

From our inmost longing still
That so yearns for joy and thrill
And for losing all we see
In exchange for being free

Of those chains that hinder us
To be real and without fuss
No more masks and undisguised
With a heart that’s circumcised

Of all inward walls that split
Nature in dead life and grit
To show others who we are
And to absorb blow and scar

9 thoughts on “What remains at the end of the day?

    1. Susanne Schuberth (Germany) Post author

      Michael, this is an interesting question.
      I wrote that poem last year in June and I have no idea WHY I wrote it the way I did. As for me at the moment, I can only say that I am in (very) dry land, having lost interest in
      anything this world has to offer which includes writing on the internet. However, I have not yet arrived there where I once longed to be, namely, in the Promised Land. At times, the Lord feeds me a bit, but never enough so that I could see an oasis anywhere.
      Honestly, I have been struggling day after day…

      Susanne

      Liked by 3 people

      Reply
  1. Michael

    Susanne, I know how you feel. I also seem to be in a dry place, spiritually speaking… Sometimes it seems that it will never end, but I can look back on many of these over the years and see that they DID end and that the oasis that followed was a lush and wonderful place of new spiritual revelation and fellowship.
    I will be praying for you, dear sister, Michael

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

LEAVE A REPLY

